You are here

Phi Mu

Chapter Website


P.O. Box 40692
Lafayette, LA 70504
United States

Phone Numbers
Office (337) 235-5301

ΦΜ  Scholarships

Phi Mu members are eligible for 125 graduate and undergraduate scholarships awarded each academic year by the National Fraternity.


Chapter President
Taylor Girouard

Chapter Advisor
Marissa Guidry

Chapter Facts

  • The Alpha Sigma Chapter was chartered on the University of Louisiana at Lafayette's campus in 1956.
  • Phi Mu hosts an annual Big Man on Campus Pageant in the spring to raise money for Children's Miracle Network Hospitals.

Organization Facts

  • Founded March 4, 1852 at Wesleyan College. 
  • Phi Mu hosts annual philanthropy events for Children's Miracle Network Hospital. Our Kicking for Kids kickball tournament in during the fall semester and our Big Man on Campus Pageant during the spring semester. 
  • 2nd oldest woman's secret organization in the nation.
  • 130,000+ living members nationwide
  • 125 active collegiate chapters, over 175 active alumnae chapters, 30 chapter associations
  • Motto: "Les Soeurs Fideles" or "Faithful Sisters"
  • Color: Rose and White
  • Flower: Rose Carnation
  • Philanthropy: Children's Miracle Network Hospitals
  • Mission statement: Founded in 1852, Phi Mu is a women's organization which provides personal and academic development, service to others, commitment to excellence and lifelong friendship through a shared tradition. Phi Mu promotes vibrant living, encouraging members to achieve their personal best.

University Awards:

  • Outstanding Newletter Award 2014
  • Outstanding Public Relations Award 2014
  • Panhellenic Award 2014
  • Philomathean Society 2014
  • Outstanding Advisor Award 2014, Linsey Trivanovich Doise
  • New Greek Woman of the Year 2013- Alana Marcello
  • Greek Hall of Fame for 2013- Ashley Mudd
  • President's Award- Ashley Mudd
  • Outstanding Senior Award- Chelsea Begnaud
  • Unsung Hero Award- Marcella Moss
  • 5-star Chapter Award (2013)
  • 5-Star Chapter Award (2007-2011)
  • New Greek Woman of the Year Award: Ashley Mudd (2011), Chelsea Begnaud (2010)
  • Greek Chapter Advisor of the Year Award: Lisa Lord (2010)
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Program of the Year Award: "Kickin' for Kids" Kickball Tournament (2012)
  • Unsung Hero Award: Jency Landry (2012)
  • President's Leadership Award: Chelsea Begnaud (recipient), Ashley Mudd (finalist) (2012)
  • Outstanding Graduate of the College of Business for Fall 2011: Theresa Phillips
  • 2011 Homecoming Court Finalists: Ashley Mudd, Chelsea Begnaud, Sophia Gross
  • 1st Place Runner Up Miss UL: Devin Whitehead (2010)
  • 1st Place Lambda Chi Alpha's Watermelon Bust (2010)
  • Lambda Chi Alpha's Watermelon Bust Queen: Callie Callais (2009), Kady Rost (2010)
  • 1st Place Greek Week Banner (2010)
  • 1st Place Greek Week (2009)
  • 1st Place Most T-shirt Sales Greek Week (2012)
  • 1st Place Greek Olympics (2012)
  • Relay for Life Team Captain of the Year Award: Chelsea Begnaud (2012)
  • Relay for Life Team Spirit Award: The Pink Ladies (2012)
  • Relay for Life Boomerang Award- 2 Year Team (2012)
  • Relay for Life Greek Chapter of Excellence Award (2012)
  • Relay for Life Highest Offline Fundraising Team (2012)
  • Relay for Life Rising Star Award (2012)
  • Relay for Life Bull's-eye Award (2012)
  • 2nd Place Sigma Alpha Epsilon's Jambalaya Cook Off (2011)
  • Pi Kappa Alpha Dream Girl Court: Amber Kaiser (Dream Girl, 2012), Nicole Haydel (2011), Ginny Hines (2010)
  • Phi Kappa Theta Ruby Court: Taylor Jenkins (2012)

National Awards:

  • Formal Recruitment Quota Award (2012)
  • Chapter Total Award (2012)
  • Perfect 10 Finance CTE 1 Year Award (2012)
  • Paperwork Award (2012)
  • Outstanding Membership Chapter (2012)

Campus Leadership:

  •     Order of Omega- Chelsea Begnaud, Amber Kaiser
  •     Rho Lambda- Kristen Gilbert (Secretary), Chelsea Begnaud, Amber Kaiser, Midori McAntee
  •     Sigma Alpha Lambda- Chelsea Begnaud, Rachelle Bethencourt, Nicole Haydel, Amber Kaiser, Amy Koethe, Anna LaGrange, Caroline Lawler, Hillary Lounsberry, Midori McAntee, Kellie Nero, Victoria Parenti, Kristy Richard
  •     Alpha Lambda Delta- Kendall Antee, Chelsea Begnaud
  •     Chi Tau Epsilon- Erin Synder
  •     Psi Chi- Anna LaGrange
  •     Kappa Delta Pi- Morgan DeRouen
  •     Blue Key Honors Society- Chelsea Begnaud (President)
  •     Student Leadership Council- Chelsea Begnaud, Ashley Mudd
  •     Ragin' Ambassadors- Chelsea Begnaud
  •     Student Orientation Staff- Alana Marcello, Ashleigh Tallo
  •     Lead Peer Mentor- Rachelle Bethencourt, Megan Parenti, Victoria Parenti
  •     Ragin' Jazz- Olivia Arostegui
  •     Pride of Acadiana- Rebecca Savoie
  •     KPA- Kendall Antee (Public Relations Chair)
  •     Students for the Autism Society- Kristen Melancon (President), Rachel Bourgeois (Secretary)
  •     PRSSA- Jamie Corbin (Social Media Chair), Phi Pham (Public Relations Director) 
  •     Honors Program- Ashley Duhon (Honors Board)
  •     Dean of Nursing Students Advisor Board- Kristen Gilbert (Representative)
  •     Relay for Life-Ashleigh Tallo (Captain), Taylor Jenkins (Co-Captin)
  •     Mise-En-Scene Society- Amy Koethe (Secretary)
  •     ULLAFCS- Kristen Melancon (President)
  •     Student Government Association- Kady Rost (Senator)
  •     UL Students of Life- Rebecca Savoie (President)
  •     Who's Who Among College Students: Amber Kaiser, Theresa Phillips
  •     Blue Key Honor Society: Chelsea Begnaud (President), Demi Millien, Hannah Carriere,
  •     Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society: Chelsea Begnaud, Renee Poche, Hannah Carriere, Anna Lagrange
  •     Order of Omega Greek Honor Society: Chelsea Begnaud, Nicole Foreman, Amber Kaiser, Caitlyn Taron, Courtney Leblanc
  •     Sigma Alpha Lambda: Chelsea Begnaud, Nicole Foreman, Amber Kaiser, Amy Koethe, Alesha Kratzer, Kellie Nero, Devin Whitehead

Other Member Honors:

  •     Hannah Carriere – 2010-2011 Church Point Buggy Festival Queen
  •     Morgan DeRouen – 2011 Miss Louisiana Mardi Gras

Recruitment Info

Phi Mu will be participating in UL Panhellenic Council Fall Recruitment.
Please see the Panhellenic Council page for more information.